Thursday, April 1, 2010

#169 Luxembourg...Thanks Klaus!

The 0.05c and 0.10c stamps in the middle are from 2001 Euro Coinage issue.

There are eight euro coins, ranging in value from one cent to two euros. The coins first came into use in 2002. They have a common reverse, portraying a map of Europe, but each country in the eurozone has its own design on the obverse, which means that each coin has a variety of different designs in circulation at once. Three European microstates which use the euro as their currency also have the right to mint coins with their own designs on the obverse side.

The coins, and various commemorative coins, are minted at numerous national mints across the European Union to strict national quotas. Obverse designs are chosen nationally, while the reverse and the currency as a whole is managed by the European Central Bank (ECB).

In 2007, a new design was introduced to reflect the enlargement in 2004. The design still retains all elements of the original designs, including the twelve stars, however the map of the fifteen states is replaced by one showing the whole of Europe 'as a continent' without borders. The vertical ridges only appear over the 'sea'.

The 0.50c stamp was issued in 2010 celebrating 10 years of the enthronement of Henri,Grand Duke of Luxembourg,who is the head of state of Luxembourg. He is the eldest son of Jean, Grand Duke of Luxembourg and Princess Joséphine-Charlotte of Belgium. His maternal grandparents were King Leopold III of Belgium and Astrid of Sweden. He is a nephew of the current King of Belgium, Albert II.

The 0.20c stamp is from 2009 Fire Fighters issue.

No comments:

Post a Comment