Sunday, June 6, 2010

#313 USA...Thanks Robbie!

Thanks Robbie for this fabulous cover with 17 stamps altogher!

The 4 stamps on the upper left are from huge Americana series issued in 1975-1981,which shows a collection of artifacts, related to the history, geography, folklore and cultural heritage of the United States.

The next 2 stamps are also from a huge Presidential series issued in 1938-1954 showing White House and Martha Washington who was the wife of George Washington.In 1902, Martha Washington became the first American woman to be honored on a U.S. postage stamp.

The 4 stamps below are from another huge Liberty series issued in 1954-1968 showing Palace of the Governors,Santa Fe;Mount Vernon;Bunker Hill Monument and the Hermitage.

The Palace of the Governors (1610) is an adobe structure within the Santa Fe Historic District in New Mexico and it served as the seat of government for the State of New Mexico for centuries. The Palace of the Governors is the oldest continuously occupied public building in the United States.

Mount Vernon, located near Alexandria, Virginia, was the plantation home of the first President of the United States, George Washington. The mansion is built of wood in neoclassical Georgian architectural style, and the estate is located on the banks of the Potomac River.

Mount Vernon was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1960 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is owned and maintained in trust by The Mount Vernon Ladies' Association and is open every day of the year, including holidays and Christmas.

The Bunker Hill Monument was built to commemorate the Battle of Bunker Hill.the first major conflict between British and Patriot forces in the Revolutionary War, fought there June 17, 1775.The 221 foot (67 m) granite obelisk was erected between 1827 and 1843 in Charlestown, Massachusetts.

The next stamp is from 1965-78 Prominent American series honoring Albert Gallatin,who was a Swiss-American ethnologist, linguist, politician, diplomat, Congressman, and the longest-serving United States Secretary of the Treasury. He was also a founder of New York University.

The 15c stamp was issued in 1980 honoring Dolley Madison,who was the spouse of the fourth President of the United States, James Madison.

The 3c stamp was issued in 1947 dedicated to Everglades National Park,which is a national park in Florida that protects the southern 25 percent of the original Everglades. It is the largest subtropical wilderness in the United States, and is visited on average by one million people each year.It is the third-largest national park in the lower 48 states after Death Valley and Yellowstone. It has been declared an International Biosphere Reserve, a World Heritage Site, and a Wetland of International Importance, only one of three locations in the world to appear on all three lists.

The 3c,5c and 32c stamps were issued to commemorate the settlement of Florida in 1565 and statehood in 1845.

The state of Florida is located in the southeastern region of the United States, bordering Alabama to the northwest and Georgia to the north. Over the century after discovery, both the Spanish and French established settlements in Florida with St. Augustine,the oldest city in the United States, established in 1565 by Spain."Florida",a Spanish term for the "Flowery Easter" season, and for the land's appearance as a "flowered land" is also the oldest surviving European place-name in the United States.

No comments:

Post a Comment