Saturday, September 25, 2010

#435 South Africa...Thanks Rosemary!

The stamp on the right was issued in 2009 honoring President Jacob Zuma.

Zuma (born in 1942) is the President of the African National Congress (ANC), the governing political party, and was Deputy President of South Africa from 1999 to 2005.Zuma is also referred to by his initials JZ and his clan name Msholozi.Zuma became the President of the ANC on 18 December 2007 after defeating incumbent Thabo Mbeki at the ANC conference in Polokwane. Zuma was also a member of the South African Communist Party (SACP),briefly serving on the party's Politburo until he left the party in 1990.On 20 September 2008, Thabo Mbeki announced his resignation after being recalled by the African National Congress's National Executive Committee, following a conclusion by Judge Nicholson of improper interference in the National Prosecuting Authority (NPA), including the prosecution of Jacob Zuma for corruption.

No comments:

Post a Comment