Friday, March 19, 2010

#138 New Zealand...Thanks Alejandro!

The four 50c stamps are from 2009 A Tiki Tour of New Zealand issue depicting Invercargill,Dunedin,Stewart Island and Chatham Islands respectively.

Invercargill is the southernmost and westernmost city in New Zealand, and one of the southernmost cities in the world. It is the commercial centre of the Southland region. It lies in the heart of the wide expanse of the Southland Plains on the Oreti or New River some 18 km north of Bluff, which is the southernmost town in the South Island.

Dunedin is the second-largest city in the South Island of New Zealand, and the principal city of the Otago Region. The city has a population of 123,700 (June 2009 estimate) and is the sixth-largest urban area in New Zealand. For historic, cultural, and geographic reasons, Dunedin is considered to be one of New Zealand's four major urban centres.

Stewart Island is the third-largest island of New Zealand. It lies 30 km south of the South Island, across Foveaux Strait. Its permanent population is slightly over 400 people, most of whom live in the settlement of Oban. Captain Cook was the first European to sight the island in 1770, but he thought it was part of the South Island so named it South Cape.

The archipelago of the Chatham Islands is a New Zealand territory in the Pacific Ocean consisting of about ten islands within a 40 kilometres (25 mi) radius, the largest of which are Chatham Island and Pitt Island. These remote islands, over 800 kilometres (500 mi) east of southern New Zealand, have officially been part of New Zealand since 1842.

The 1$ stamp on the right corner is from 1999 Native Flowers & Trees issue depicting Kowhai (Sophora tetratera),which are small, woody legume trees native to New Zealand. Kowhai trees grow throughout the country and are a common feature in New Zealand gardens.

No comments:

Post a Comment