Wednesday, October 13, 2010

#452 India...Thanks Krishnamurthy!

The stamp on the right upper corner was issued on Jan.25 2010 promoting Election Commission of India.

India is a constitutional democracy with a parliamentary system of government, and at the heart of the system is a commitment to hold regular, free and fair elections. These elections determine the composition of the government, the membership of the two houses of parliament, the state and union territory legislative assemblies, and the Presidency and vice-presidency.

Elections are conducted according to the constitutional provisions, supplemented by laws made by Parliament. The major laws are Representation of the People Act, 1950, which mainly deals with the preparation and revision of electoral rolls, the Representation of the People Act, 1951 which deals, in detail, with all aspects of conduct of elections and post election disputes. The Supreme Court of India has held that where the enacted laws are silent or make insufficient provision to deal with a given situation in the conduct of elections, the Election Commission has the residuary powers under the Constitution to act in an appropriate manner.

During the last 60 years ,The Election Commission Of India has conducted 15 General Elections to the Lok Sabha and 326 general elections to state Legislative Assemblies.

No comments:

Post a Comment